

Yesterday in class things got a little heated, I agreed with both sides of the arguement to an extent. What makes America great is that there are opportunities to better yourself, traditioanlly we have come from a generation who worked very hard and made sacrifices, and our paretns have certainly made sacrifices for us, should we feel bad about having two cars and a house that was worked hard for NO, but that does not mean screw everyone else. What we are doing is destructive and it will take time to transition, the best thing we can do is be aware of what we are doing. Unfortunately we can not sit on a moral high horse, though we would all like to, just because we recycle and are aware of environmental issues, I still use a computer, I still drive a car, live in a house, consume consume consume, though I am taking steps to cut back on it. Unfortunately we are trapped in our culture and assumed to live a certain lifestyle, If i could, I would love to live in a tree house and have a horse and wagon..you get the idea. but it is just not practical. Hopefully Obama will truly bring change for us to make it more practical for us to be more responsible world citizens. As for being perceived as American I have had neutral positive and negative encounters, we are not all screaming spoiled little MTV brats and not all foreigners judge individuals based on where they are from , I think that if everyone could just see and understand the individual, if more personal connections were made there would be less violence, terrorists do not act out out of nowhere, if your entire family was blown up in their sleep by somebody(america), if your town was destroyed, freinds dead, if you are lving in constant fear..who knows how you would feel, you might do something drastic...Im not saying it makes it OK but violence begets violence without a doubt and that needs to change. 

No comments:
Post a Comment